Six on Saturday, 28.11.20

16 thoughts on “Six on Saturday, 28.11.20”

  1. We have always tended towards removing dead herbaceous material and putting it on the compost bin but your spreading it on the beds reminds me that in a nearby garden, Mount Congreve, they cut down their asters and phlox at the end of the year and use them to cover the dahlias, after they have been cut down. They grow a lot of dahlias and lifting all the tubers would be a huge job so they leave most in the ground and lift a few from each clump. These are then brought into growth, on heat, early in the new year and they propagate new plants from cuttings. If the tubers in the ground have been killed by frost, they will have replacements to hand and, if not, they have plants to sell. Apparently, plants propagated from cuttings have better vigour.

  2. Wonderful photos, everything looks lovely in the frost. I do like the dogwood stems, really superb for winter. Jealous of that pumpkin harvest, I absolutely love pumpkin soup and/or butternut soup, try topping some with your pan-fried chard, delicious.

  3. Hi Cathy, some difficulties to translate :

    – BV. ???

    – could you tell more about these stones. Traces of a médiéval garden ? Slope garden at this time ?

    Enjoy jour 52 weeks flowering garden.

    Thanks you for these post.

    Hugues

    Le sam. 28 nov. 2020 à 09:47, Garden Dreaming at Châtillon a écrit :

    > Cathy posted: ” Days of glorious sunshine and hard frosts at night (down > to about -2 at the beginning of the week) have seen us in the garden every > afternoon. We need a chainsaw – there’s a fallen ash under here! The BV is > still not working since March this year, ” >

  4. Your frosts are beautiful. Like here, but we haven’t had the sunshine this week. (And snow is forecast!) I am completely ignorant about soil and compost but it sounds interesting what you plan to do. My hellebore leaves are surprisingly healthy this year, so I have only cut back enough to show off the flowers. The dogwoods also look good with their red stems showing up well in the frosty landscape.

  5. A fine six, Cathy. I love the thought of having a clipped rosemary hedge (impossible in my climate)… trimming it must be aromatic! I can just imagine you under the pergola 🙂 shade is so welcome on a hot day.

  6. Thank you for you garden tour there is so much to admire. I find garden renovations and creations as interesting as the plants.
    I’m a great advocate of mulch, all my vegetable and garden beds have a winter blanket both to improve the soil condition and stop the wind from stealing my soil. I use, shredded hedge clippings, seaweed, and strawy manure. By the end of the winter most of it has decomposed to leave a lovely crumbly mix. No need to dig it in, let the worms do the work. I do not cut down my herbaceous plants, the dead stems provide homes for invertebrates, and they also create their own mulch!

  7. Oh my goodness Catherine, your garden is so beautiful. I can see there is so much to do but how exciting it must be to have so much loveliness and potential. I’d love to see a picture of the pergola when you get it in place. I have one in the garden to hold up a Himalayan musk rose which then scrambles 15 metres into a larch tree. It’s so pretty. Have a great week.

  8. What an interesting post, Cathy – I really enjoyed reading it. H niger seems to be generally less accommodating than the H orientalis – I have lost a few of the latter. My orientalis will usually get some marked leaves, but not till late in the year and I shall start removing them in the next few weeks, a practice I only started a few years ago, but the flowers do look so much better for it

Leave a comment