In a Vase on Monday. 18 March 2023

28 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday. 18 March 2023”

  1. A simple trick to prolong vase life in the hellebores! ‘Jenny’ is a beautiful daffodil; one I like very much.

    1. It’s kind of my favourite – but that is something to do also, with my dog, Jenny, when I was a teenager. We spent a lot of time together, she and I!! I remember seeing Elka on your pages Paddy – she is now flowering here – I’m a bit disappointed. So tiny! She’s sweet though. It’s a case of me not reading the packet and planting her in the wrong place!

  2. So nice to see you back. And I do hate slugs too. Those hellebores are beautiful. I had oodles of them in my old garden, but here in the sparse garden I planted 2 in the fall. It will take time before I will have any to cut so I am enjoying yours.

    1. So good to see you as well Donna – I was worried about you a while back. I think you went through some quite massive life changes, didn’t you? Anyway – lovely to see you gardening and writing again!

      1. Well – I hope things have levelled out a bit now for you Donna – good that you are posting and loving your flowers again.

  3. Oh my, Cathy – what an abundant vase of hellebores! And you say your trick works? I have recently tried slitting the full length of the stem as recoomended elsewhere, but it wasn’t successful, so I shall experiment with your tip ASAP as it always a shame not to be able to cut them for a vase. Thanks for joing us today – do come again!! 🤣

    1. I’ve tried a lot of things – including what you describe above – I was doing too much. For me – fingers crossed for you!!! – a little tiny slit at the base of the stem – not going through to the other side – seems to work. Slightly fiddly, but it gave me a vase that lasted at least a week (more, I think)

  4. A lovely bunch of hellebores, Cathy. Thanks for the tip about slitting the stem for vase longevity. Here’s a tip for you to try: Spray cooled black coffee on your blooms to deter slugs. Apparently, it works well. I just learned it and will try it as things emerge in my garden.

    1. Oh Eliza – I will try it! I was down in the orchard today and saw that a new planting of daffodils was pretty shredded as well … thanks so much!

  5. It’s good to “see” you again, Cathy! I love your abundant hellebores combined with Euphorbia. I’ll definitely try your trick to prolong a hellebore’s vase-life. Sorry about the slugs!

    1. Good to ‘see’ you as well! … yes, the slugs continue to cause me to tear my hair out. There’s a whole patch of new daffs down below decimated by them. I have to be philosophical

  6. That is a glorious arrangement and I do like that combination with the Euphorbia. Thanks for the trick to keep them fresh – I have given up after trying so many methods and just pick them when they start going over instead. 🌸

  7. Wow, those are impressive hellebores. I should have gotten pictures of a few of ours (without cutting them) because by our expectations, they performed unusually well this year. They dislike the climate here.

  8. Good to see you again Cathy 😀 An interesting and different tip regarding lengthening the vase life of hellebores. I’ve also read that they last longer if you pick flowers that have started to set seed but I think that the flowers are less attractive at the stage. Oh what a shame about your ‘Jennys’ – such an attractive little daffy. Slugs and snails have certainly relished the wet autumn and winter we’ve had here.

    1. I saw someone who suggested different treatments for different phases – I think they are probably right … and need to be more patient!

Leave a comment