In a vase on Monday

DSC_0102My vase is a bit of a cheat this week, since I made it for the dinner table on Saturday night. I was entranced by the sweet little fluffy white flowers of this shrub and liked the way they were nice and low for a table centrepiece that no one could hide behind.

I took pictures inside (with a tripod) and out, mainly for a learning experience (I’m not sure Monday morning is my best time for learning experiences!).

DSC_0123

DSC_0079Up until this morning I thought they were Symphoricarpus albus; now, after double-checking myself, I’m not so sure. We inherited them when we moved to the house.

DSC_0082

I added some pink double aquilegias and a few chive flowers (I’ve used them along borders as a way of making a cheap edging that also gives us lots to enjoy in the kitchen).

The ‘snowberry’ flowers impressed me again this morning with their staying power. The stems were very woody and I didn’t treat them in any way except for cutting once again after they’d been snipped from the garden. Two days later and almost as fresh – a novelty for me, since I seem to have a penchant for choosing vase subjects that flop after a day!

DSC_0106

I think my little shrub made a nice vase, even if I can’t call it by name. Can you help?

This is my contribution to Cathy’s ‘In a Vase on Monday’ meme at Rambling in the Garden. Now go on over to her blog and follow the links to see what Monday treats everyone else has produced!

POSTSCRIPT: The winner of this week’s ‘guess the mystery shrub’ award is Anna who suggested Spirea betulifolia. And it is! Many thanks to Anna – just wish I had a prize to send you. Funnily enough I noticed this shrub everywhere on my way into Bourbonne-les-Bains yesterday evening. So obviously very popular around here.

 

 

24 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday

  1. Linda Brazill

    I agree that Monday morning isn’t my best time to pull my vase together. I usually do it on Sunday afternoon. I love the idea of chives as an edging: beautiful and as you say, useful.

    Reply
    1. Cathy Post author

      Oh good – I don’t feel so bad that I did mine on Saturday now. It’s the photographing on Monday morning I find the headache!

      Reply
  2. pbmgarden

    Don’t recognize it but I agree, your shrub made a great vase. The soft colors of chive and aquilegia are perfect with it. Always nice to have plants that keep well in a vase too. Have a good week.

    Reply
    1. Cathy Post author

      You have a good week too – I hope my vase lasts longer than last week’s did. I was in awe of how long you said your vases from the last 2 weeks had lasted.

      Reply
  3. Christina

    I cheated this week too, Cathy, my vase was for Friday evening. I’ve been surprised that it has lasted very well. I feel I should recognize your pretty flowers but I don’t know what they are. Are they perfumed! The soft colours work beautifully together.

    Reply
    1. Cathy Post author

      A very slight perfume, Christina. I reckon they might be a privet species, but am often wrong about these things. A mystery for me to solve.

      Reply
  4. Kris Peterson

    Like Christina, I’m sure I’ve seen those fuzzy white flowers before but I can’t put a name to them either. They’re very pretty and I’m fairly certain they don’t grow here.

    Reply
    1. Cathy Post author

      I’m beginning to settle on privet (Ligustrum), as I’ve commented to Cathy. But there is much doubt clouding my mind!

      Reply
  5. Cathy

    Come, come ladies – it’s not cheating to make your vases in advance!! I love your fuzzy vase, whatever the contents – and I am sure the name of this shrub will suddenly pop into our minds when we least expect it! The chive flowers are adorable – I was just noticing my chives were just budding up and wondering whether to pinch the flowers off, but seeing yours here I will allow them to open and perhaps they will appear in a vase too…

    Reply
    1. Cathy Post author

      It suddenly occurred to me when I was out today that it might simply be a privet species! But I have vague memories of berries too (I have a bad memory!)

      Reply
      1. Cathy Post author

        No – a soft, hedgey type thingey, Cathy. No thorns. I do think still it might be snowberry – I think I might have got that idea from the berries in autumn (but can’t really remember!)

      2. Cathy

        And yesterday I noticed hawthorn close up which reminded me of your blooms. Can’t remember if you showed the leaves

      3. Cathy Post author

        Hi Cathy – Anna has just identified it as Spiraea betulifolia (bless her) – she’s spot on, now I’ve checked – so off with the detective cap! Thanks again so much for your dogged determination to help and resolve! Have a wonderful week!

  6. Cathy

    I love thise fluffy flowers Cathy! It’s such a joyful frothy arrangement altogether. Afraid I don’t know what they could be though.

    Reply
  7. Anna

    Now that isn’t real cheating 🙂 A most pretty trio. I was tempted to pick some chive flowers from the allotment yesterday but every time I looked at them the bees were enjoying them so I didn’t have the heart to snip. The unknown shrub flowers look familiar but at the moment the name is evasive.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

