DSC_0124 (2)
I am messing around and avoiding work this Saturday afternoon – any excuse to play with a new camera and a much-loved old macro lens that hasn’t seen the light of day for over 15 years! And a chance to finally take part in the WordPress weekly photo challenge … the topic for Friday 19 February is Seasons.

It never stops raining at the moment and all a gardener can do is press her nose to the windowpane. Even 2015’s dried allium seed heads are starting to look a bit miserable. Raindrops and dead alliums … the summer seems so far away!

While ‘wasting’ time, I also came across Walt Whitman’s poem, ‘The Voice of the Rain’. This is more like it … a hopeful message for the rain-bound February gardener.

And who art thou? said I to the soft-falling shower,
Which, strange to tell, gave me an answer, as here translated:
I am the Poem of Earth, said the voice of the rain,
Eternal I rise impalpable out of the land and the bottomless sea,
Upward to heaven, whence, vaguely form’d, altogether changed, and
yet the same,
I descend to lave the drouths, atomies, dust-layers of the globe,
And all that in them without me were seeds only, latent, unborn;
And forever, by day and night, I give back life to my own origin,
and make pure and beautify it;
(For song, issuing from its birth-place, after fulfilment, wandering,
Reck’d or unreck’d, duly with love returns.)

His poem taught me a new word: to ‘reck’, meaning to take heed of, or to be thought  important. Usually used in the negative, the Oxford Dictionary says, as in, ‘It recks little.’

Back soon to start my walk around the village of Châtillon-sur-Saône …

18 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Seasons

  1. Pingback: WPC:Seasons (Parliament) | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?

  2. Island Threads

    hmm, rather a romantic vision I don’t share at the moment, and my reply to Walt is ~ having too much of a good thing, is not good!
    here the seeds are drowned or drowning except those that like growing in a swamp,

    nice photo of seedheads and raindrops, have lots of new camera fun, Frances

    Reply
    1. Cathy Post author

      Hi Frances – I’m terribly behind with everything, including replying to kind comments! Actually, at the moment I agree with you, not Walt. We’ve definitely had too much of a good thing!

      Reply
  3. ahiggins2013

    So glad to have found your blog! I am not a formally trained gardener, but I’ve been gardening on and off for many years. I’m starting on a new garden space and am looking forward to reading back to how you developed your garden! Anne

    Reply
    1. Cathy Post author

      Anne – I’m so sorry to have taken so long replying. It was lovely to read your comment though. I hope you continue to enjoy my blog. I won’t stop, although I’m not a very ‘faithful’ blogger!

      Reply
    1. Cathy Post author

      Replying far too late, Amy. We did have some sunshine (and now I have a sore back and hands with all the work in the garden!) But I’m afraid it’s back to rain again …

      Reply
    2. Cathy Post author

      Amy – sure you won’t read this, but here goes – I was reading your spring bulb blog this morning (also Kris Peterson’s in LA) and for both of you couldn’t work out how to leave a comment. Could you give me instructions?

      Reply
  4. johnvic8

    I grew up in the south and it was a common phrase: I reckon I will…. I reckon it’s a ….. etc. I think we meant something like I suppose…, or I think… I still say that today.

    Reply
    1. Cathy Post author

      Two months ago when I read your comment, John, I meant to reply … yes, I think it’s a very North American word. There are a lot of old words that English-speaking North Americans have preserved in the language since they first made their escape from Europe, aren’t there? We have a richer language on account of it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

