Following You!

Galanthus 030There’s lots going on in the garden at the moment. I’m laying out the bones of the Hornbeam Gardens, enjoying my snowdrops and hellebores, and sowing sweet pea seed as well as vegetables. (See my pictures below.) But I find it so hard to post myself and take a look at what you’ve been doing. So I’m taking a (sort of) week off to catch up with you. I know whose blogs I’m catching up with. Let me know if I’m missing something!

Next Sunday I’m coming back with an update on the garden and the last of my special plant purchases.

Looking straight down onto the Hornbeam Gardens

Looking straight down onto the Hornbeam Gardens

Looking a little further to the right, towards the 'Orchard'

Looking a little further to the left, towards the ‘Orchard’

Walking out of the Hornbeam Gardens towards the Orchard

Walking out of the Hornbeam Gardens towards the Orchard

Galanthus 047

Shrivelled but carrying on doing what it does!

Galanthus 003

Galanthus ‘Sam Arnott’. See the flower, totally unsullied, pushing its way through the leaf cover? If only we could be so determined!

Galanthus 033

My bravest snowdrop (‘Sam Arnott) again.

Did you ever make ‘rooms’ by raking leaves when you were small? I did. Sometimes I feel I’ve never stopped …

18 thoughts on “Following You!

  1. Amy

    I don’t recall ever making rooms with leaves – I do remember stomping around in them with some gusto! Perhaps that explains my gardening failings?? Your hellebores and snowdrops are lovely – I always wanted Sam Arnott, but left snowdrop country before I found a source! I admire the layout of the Hornbeam Gardens, edged by the orchard 🙂

    Reply
    1. Cathy Post author

      Thanks for your kind comment Amy. Sorry it’s taken so long to reply. I think ‘stomping’ at an early age indicates a ‘can do’ attitude. Something to be praised! ‘Sam Arnott’ is lovely, but I’m sure there are plenty of plants I’ll be drooling over on your blog when I visit, so don’t regret him … you garden in such a wonderfully different world!

      Reply
  2. susan@life-change-compost

    I’m so thrilled to discover your site. Having spent a month in the Burgundy Region last year, I absorb the beauty of your photos like a day at a gallery. (I got lost in your lilacs!) The yellow creamy one was especially interesting. We have a rather famous Lilac Farm here outside of Portland where I went to buy four lilacs to grow along a fence the way I saw them in Loire Valley. I have Charles Joly, two of “Glory” a triple-purple and a dual color Catherine Havermeyer. I love what you wrote about having real people in your garden!

    Reply
    1. Cathy Post author

      What a sweet comment Susan – I’ll be very interested to hear about your lilac experiences. France is indeed a wonderful country and we are quite privileged to live so close to Burgundy. I’m hoping that eventually we will be able to explore some of the historical/plant experiences it offers. I’m particularly interested in the Cistercians, and of course Burgundy is the order’s birthplace. Maybe I’ll post in the summer about visits if we ever ‘get out’!

      Reply
  3. Paula Clements

    Wow Cathy absolutely fab pictures again, the helibores are always so lovely. Dear little snowdrops and primulas xxx.

    Reply
    1. Cathy Post author

      Hi Paula! So sweet of you to leave a comment. I sat down among the hellebores and snowdrops today (and some other winter-flowering things I’ve planted) and felt quite a sense of peace after a tricky fortnight. Take care, see you soon.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

